I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 152 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio L. F. Kasperbauer <u>Mike Cruz</u> F. B. Aguon, Jr. J. M.S. Brown Edward J.B. Calvo B. J.F. Cruz Mark Forbes R. Klitzkie J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios, Sr. R. J. Respicio A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing the 108th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on its observance of this historic occasion.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN

2 GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the
 Philippines is observed every year on the twelfth (12th) of June; and

5 WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence 6 through the sacrifice of many Filipino Heroes such as Dr. Jose Rizal, the 7 National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote 'Noli Me Tangere' (The Lost 8 Eden), which popularized independence sentiment and whose execution by the Spanish spawned public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led
 the Cry of Balintawak; General Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle
 of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the 'Sublime Paralytic' and
 the Brain of the Revolution; and

-

5 WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas 6 such as Melchora Aquino, known as 'Tandang Sora', who was exiled to the 7 Marianas by the Spanish Government because of her activities; Teresa 8 Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year old teacher, who was one of the first 9 women to lead men on the battlefields; and other Filipina heroines from all 10 walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

WHEREAS, the struggle for independence culminated on June 12, 1898, 11 12 when General Emelio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' independence at 13 his hometown of Kawit, Cavite, where thousands of people from the provinces gathered to witness the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine Flag 14 15 while a band played the Philippine National Anthem, after which the "Act of 16 the Declaration of Independence" was solemnly read by its author Ambrosio 17 Rianzares Bautista, who had patterned it after the American Declaration of 18 Independence; and

WHEREAS, such declaration was adopted by the Assembly of
Municipal Presidents and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the
Philippines assembled in Malolos, Bulacan on September 1898 as an
expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam celebrates Philippine Independence annually with various activities such as: Wreath Laying at the Mabini Shrine located in the War at the Pacific National Park in Asan that

2

commemorates fifty-two (52) Filipino heroes including Apolinario Mabini
 who was exiled to Guam from 1901 to 1903; and the Filipino Community of
 Guam's Philippine Independence Ball; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the 108th Anniversary of the
Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and further
congratulates the Filipino Community of Guam on its observance of the
Anniversary on June 17, 2006 at this year's Philippine Independence Ball at
the LeoPalace Resort, Guam; and be it further

10 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 11 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 12 thereafter transmitted to Ms. Nita Baldovino, President, Filipino Community 13 of Guam; to the Honorable Teresita Mendiola, Philippine Consulate General 14 to Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 30^{TH} DAY OF MAY 2006.

MARK FORBES

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature